“The Hunger Games”

“The Hunger Games” Trilogy was written by author Suzanne Collins. The plot revolves around one main character, Katniss Everdeen. Katniss has had to care for her mother and sister ever since her father died in a massive explosion.  She and her family live in District Twelve in Panem. District Twelve is one of  the most deprived districts in all of Panem. There is a country wide “game” that involves nominating, or picking at random, a young woman and a young man from each district to fight to death in an arena.

Katniss’ sister was chosen at random from all of the girls in District Twelve. She knew that her sister wouldn’t make it out alive if she was sent into the arena, so she volunteered to take her sister’s place. In the beginning of “The Games,” Katniss was fending for herself, but then the Capital made an announcement. They said that if the two tributes from the same district were still living, then there could be two winners. The other tribute from District Twelve was Peeta Mellark, and after restless searching for him, Katniss found him. To gain  affection of the viewers of “The Games,” Katniss and Peeta acted as if they were  in love with each other. Eventually only Katniss and Peeta were left, and the Capital made a startling announcement. They announced  that there could only be one  winner. During “The Games,” Peeta and Katniss discover berries called Nightlock berries. These berries are extremely dangerous, and will kill you instantly if eaten. After the Capital announced that there could only be one winner, the two tributes  were faced with the option to fight each other to death,  or eat the Nightlock berries. You’ll have to read it to find out what happens.

About www.uhstalk.org

Uniontown High School online school newspaper Tomahawk Talk

View all posts by www.uhstalk.org →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.